Lifetime Achievement Award, 2017

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to individuals who have made a sustained impact nationally and internationally on the growth of the profession and who have maintained the highest standard of patient care in their practice. The recipient of this award has also been a strong and positive role model in the community and an exemplary mentor and educator.

Dr. Seymour Brownstein has led an exemplary life and career dedicated to the advancement of Ophthalmology and Pathology. As the current “Les Amis Chair in Vision Science” and Professor in the Departments of Ophthalmology and Pathology at the University of Ottawa and The Ottawa Hospital, his unique approach to medicine has shaped best practices for decades in the Canadian ophthalmological landscape. SEE MORE

2017 COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research

The Canadian Ophthalmological Society congratulates the recipients of the 2017 COS Awards for Excellence in Ophthalmic Research. These awards recognize residents, fellows and medical students who are conducting original, innovative research at a Canadian university. Thank you to the members of the adjudication committee for the paper awards: Drs. Catherine Birt, Martin J. Steinbach and Setareh Ziai; and the poster awards: Drs. Farzin Forooghian, Ali Hafez, Cindy Hutnik, Bernard Hurley, Robert La Roche and Rusty Ritenour for their time and support in selecting the 2017 winners.


First prize
Sina Khalili, University of Toronto
The effect of anti-vascular endothelial growth factor injection on growth and organ development of the neonate: In-vivo study
Presented during Retinopathy of prematurity, strabismus and albinism

Second prize
Victoria C. Leung, University of Toronto
Corneal collagen cross-linking in the management of keratoconus in Canada: A cost-effectiveness analysis
Presented during Things that make you go hmm: Latest options in refractive corneal surgery

Third prize
Ioannis S. Dimopoulos, University of Alberta
Gene therapy for choroideremia: Initial results
Presented during Emerging observations in imaging, inflammation & oncology


Presented during Current concepts I

First prize
Jade M. Lasiste, McGill University
Metformin inhibits survival, migration, and vascular endothelial growth factor production in uveal melanoma cells

Second prize
Carl Shen, McMaster University
Fragility of results in randomized control trials in ophthalmology

Third prize
Husayn Gulamhusein, McMaster University
Standalone ab interno gelatin stent with MMC versus standalone trabeculectomy with MMC: Post-operative patient experience and healthcare utilization